Seek Ye First

Rosemary pic

Eight years ago while clearing a flower bed, we found that a tiny fig tree had seeded itself.  Under financial duress at the time, I took it as a word from the Lord from Habakkuk:

‘Though the fig-tree does not bud
and there are no grapes on the vines,
though the olive crop fails
and the fields produce no food,
though there are no sheep in the sheepfold
and no cattle in the stalls,
yet I will rejoice in the Lord,
I will be joyful in God my Saviour.’  Habakkuk 3:17-19

Over the years I have carefully nurtured this sapling both as an Ebenezer stone to God’s faithfulness, but also because I love figs!  I have always hoped that at some point it would produce fruit but, it never has.

Right now, I am again under financial duress and the sole caregiver for my children.  Concerned that they were spending too much time on screens, this week I told them we would use our summer days to come up with homemade projects instead.

My eight year old son wanted to plant carrots so I needed to prune our abundant rosemary bush to give him room.  Quick as a flash I knew what we could do with the mound of gorgeous branches now lying on the ground: tie small bundles of sprigs with ribbon (left over from my chutney days), attach a marinade recipe and leave a bunch on each porch in our neighborhood.

They smelt like heaven and the children and I thoroughly enjoyed a day of preparing bunches and carrying them up and down our local streets in a laundry basket.

Job done, we felt satisfied and (of course) quite brilliant.  However, God was doing something more.  On our own porch a couple of days later, we found that a family unknown to us had reciprocated.  Attached to a little basket was a kind note thanking us for the fragrant rosemary.

And what had this sweet family given us?  Figs.

Rosemary is for remembrance, so I will remember this: that the Lord knows what we need before we ask Him.  As we use what He has ALREADY given us, He will add not only what we need, but also what we might not even hope to ask for.

“Seek ye first the Kingdom of God, and all these things shall be added unto you.”

Rosemary 6

 

Leave a Reply

