The Gate of the Year

‘And I said to the man who stood at the gate of the year:

“Give me a light that I may tread safely into the unknown.”

And he replied:

“Go out into the darkness and put your hand into the Hand of God. That shall be to you better than light and safer than a known way.”

So I went forth, and finding the Hand of God, trod gladly into the night. And He led me towards the hills and the breaking of day in the lone East.’

I believe it.

I believe it and I cannot see what’s ahead.

I believe it and I have placed my hand into the hands of the only Redeemer.

I believe it and there has never not been a dawn.

I believe it and I am facing forward because the way on is the way through.

If you have nowhere to turn, no way to go back, no sight going forward, no clue as to the whys and hows and wherefores — put your hands into the hands of God.

I can tell you myself.  It is better than light.

And safer than a known way.

God bless you in a New Year.

Bash on.

 

 

jsg/dec 31 2016

*photo taken early morning 12/29/16

5 thoughts on “The Gate of the Year”

  1. Bash on indeed, my friend, my fellow adventurer, on with Him who leads us onward and upward, into another year!
    I thank God for your indomitable spirit of wisdom, faithfulness and humour xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Josie, I loved this poem so much I have it for a heading on all the letters I am sending out to the prison boys. Thank you for sharing this, it is truly wonderful, and truly true. I need to hear it, the boys need to hear, we all do, don’t we….Carole

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

