Bite Me.

 

Christ pic

Well, today struck another big blow to my life plan. Or at least the current one, the one I could see, of how to take care of myself and my kids.

But you know what? These situations have TEETH.  Isn’t today exactly the kind of day when you jump up and down a little on your foundations to see if they can still – really – hold your weight?

My friend, Rains, texted me on hearing:

“This is not a tragedy.                                                                                                                                     This is not a comedy.                                                                                                                                 This is a farce.”

I love that perspective.

In Proverbs 31 there is a passage about this ridiculously spectacular woman – the Wife of Noble Character. A) She does all the work while her husband sits in good repute at the City Gate (what the what?) B) She keeps it all together running her family while being an entrepreneur and C) She still looks fabulous all the time (but because she is clothed with ‘strength and dignity’ not Stella and Zac.)

However my favorite verse is this one:

 ‘She can laugh at the days to come.’

She can LAUGH at the days to come. Why?

Not because she’s made wise investments and the stock market won’t crash. Not because she’s married to the perfect spouse (sitting at the city gate??) Not because her children will never get sick. Not because she’s worked her butt off to ensure her family are secure. But because she knows she’s not ultimately in charge.

She’s not in charge of all the stuff that can go wrong or will go right. She can’t tilt the world on its axis and make the weather patterns change for her vineyard. She can’t have her finger in every pie and keep every plate spinning, no matter how noble she is. No one can.

But she can laugh – no matter what – because she knows the One who does and will move mountains in the everyday to take care of them.  He’s great at all this stuff.

If my life is a farce (which I think is how life should be viewed generally, Oscar Wilde was right) then I too choose to laugh.

I’ve had far worse blows than today’s (remember my panic last week?) My specific lack of knowing today is about money. But if I had all the money in the world I’d still be living and moving and breathing because of a loving God who allowed me still to be here. None of my life is a given. Not even my daily bread.

The only difference between today and yesterday is that I have new information. About my circumstances. No change, however, in the One who holds all my circumstances in the palm of His hand. Just like He did yesterday, just like He does today, and just like He will tomorrow.

So, today, I choose to put on my sparkle shoes and not tell my kids. I choose to do the next thing. Make my coffee and see the funny side now I’ve grasped (by writing it down) what this new info does and doesn’t mean.

What it does mean is that I am again fully reliant on Him and hyper alert to taking hold of new opportunities. Both my hands are back in His, and the rollercoaster continues.

What it does not mean is that my floorboards are rotten and I’ve fallen through my foundation. Because my house is built on solid rock.

So you know what, Satan and your scaremongers? BITE ME.

I’m laughing.

Sparkle Shoes

 

Jsg/may 16

5 thoughts on “Bite Me.”

  1. This perspective is golden. I wake up nearly every morning in the wee hours wondering where two sets of college tuition will come from.
    Today, I will laugh. Being anxious for NOTHING, but knowing that He holds me in His loving care. I can’t wait to find out how this struggle will turn out.

    Like

  2. One Good Next Step at a time. That’s how I managed during the darkest period of my divorce and that’s how I still manage my life day to day when I *so easily* feel overwhelmed. Standing with you sister!

    Like

Leave a Reply

