Anchors Away (a love note to Scotland).

Scottish vote

In my opinion, old hymns are the best.  Here is an excerpt from one of my faves:
Will your anchor hold in the storms of life,
When the clouds unfold their wings of strife?
When the strong tides lift, and the cables strain,
Will your anchor drift or firm remain?

It calls to mind the question that each person has to decide for themselves: What will I make my anchor on the high seas of Life?

Scotland is particularly on my heart today because they vote for their independence tomorrow.  No one knows which way it’s going to go, it’s simply too close to call.

Having lived in Glasgow for eight years, I have enormous sympathy with those who no longer want to be ruled from the South of England.  And I have empathy with those who want to remain part of a United Kingdom and the (relative) security that that union represents.

The vote is going to go whichever way it’s going to go and life will continue either way.  However, how well each side survives the result will surely be a reflection of what they have placed their confidence in.

I remember before Obama was first elected, an American friend said to me that if Obama was not voted in they would leave the United States for good.   But what, I wondered silently, would they do in another country if the political system changed and they didn’t agree with that one either?  Just keep moving until they die?

As we all know, the only permanent thing in life is change.  So is it any surprise that as human beings we are constantly looking for an anchor that could hold us and keep us safe.   For me that anchor is the one described in the hymn.   An anchor that:

…is safely moored, ’twill the storm withstand,
For ’tis well secured by the Savior’s hand;
And the cables passed from His heart to mine,
Can defy the blast, through strength divine.

I don’t know what to hope for for Scotland tomorrow.  I do know what to ask for though.

I want God to bless them all: those mighty, resilient, loyal, feisty, incredibly funny, enduring, persevering Scots.

jsg/sept14

Leave a Reply

