Staying in the Moment.

Hallelujah

This is a tough thing to do.  To wake up and face this day only.  Not to add to today the worries of tomorrows with situations and complications and needs that I can do nothing about today.

To stay in today.  THIS is the day that the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad IN IT. To make plans and be responsible – obviously – but to mentally, emotionally, physically and spiritually stay in today.

To not be anxious about tomorrow.

Does God know where I am tomorrow?  Yes.  Is He there right now?  No, He is here with me in today, in this place, in this circumstance, in this moment.

In this moment.  God isn’t yet with me in the afternoon if we are both still here and it’s morning.

With Him, I can deal with this moment, because God has given me grace to deal with this moment.  And when He and I move into the next, He will then be there for me to face that moment also.

He never leaves me.  He is before me, behind me, above me, below me, within me, around me. In this moment only.  And then in every moment after that.

So the challenge is to stay in the exact moment I am in since it is the only moment I can actually be in with Him.  In this moment, He will provide me with everything that this moment requires of me.

God will not lead me where His grace will not cover me.  So I must follow to stay in step with His provision of grace.  If I run ahead to try and figure it all out myself, there is no grace for me there yet and I become quickly overwhelmed, helpless and despairing.

But if I stay in this moment, right now, I can turn my face to the sun and close my eyes.  I can breathe.  I can give thanks and pray for what is right in front of me.  And that is all I can handle.

So, as Saint Augustine of Hippo put it, I will aim to be a Hallelujah from head to foot in each single moment, exactly where God has me.

To do otherwise is only to rob myself of the blessings He has for me in this day which, when I look, I can suddenly see.

JSG/August 2014

Leave a Reply

